BURLESQUE, BABY

Every year I spend a good couple of weeks racking my brain for a good way to celebrate my birthday, and usually to no avail. This year I think I might have just hit the mark. I stumbled across the Priceless London Wonderground festival on the Southbank, spanning the whole summer with all things burlesque, cabaret, and generally wonderful and curious. I booked a night at the Boom Boom Club, with a lengthy line-up of acts including sultry singers, dancers, comedians, and a lady who eats fire whilst bathing in broken glass. Happy Birthday to me!

In an attempt to shelter from the rain at Latitude 2010 I was lucky enough to rush into the tent where ex-architect Camille O’Sullivan was performing smokey Burlesque covers of Tom Waits, David Bowie, Jacques Brel and Radiohead. Since then I’ve been a bit obsessed with the whole genre, so it’s great to have finally got round to booking such a good event. There was a huge resurgence in the popularity of cabaret and variety shows a couple of years ago, which a lot of people connected with the financial crisis (remember when everyone called it the credit crunch? Then shit got serious). If that connection is a valid one, then I guess we were hungry for some nostalgiac escapism. That’s exactly what I hope to find at the Boom Boom Club, where I’m going to party like it’s 1935. More on that soon.

Leave a Reply

